Interview: Sarah of Purplespoon Design

Sarah collectionSarah butterfly

Sarah of Purplespoon Design, who is also one of the Cambridge Made team, will be showing her work at the Summer Fair on Saturday. Sarah trained as a graphic designer and her business started as a freelance graphic design studio, but it has grown to include a selection of handmade home accessories and contemporary jewellery. Her background shows in striking use of typography for her personalised wall art, and in the strong colours and clean lines of many of her jewellery designs.

“I really thrive on creating and design, it’s in my head in some form or another all the time! However, in the early days of Purplespoon Design I missed the hands-on nature of making, so my tiny business grew fairly organically to include some handmade items too, a collection that has continued to grow over time.”

Sarah teapots

Sarah’s advice to other makers out there seeking an outlet is to just start! “I spent a long time worrying about how I couldn’t launch my business until I had every last detail worked out, but over time I have tried to learn not to be such a perfectionist! It’s better to start and evolve along the way than to wait and put pressure on yourself to get it a hundred percent perfect from the beginning.”

Sarah starsSarah fox

 “I love bright colours, bold shapes and typography and all these things feature in my creations. I do go through phases and my current obsession is gold! My house looks like a golden zoo with all the safari placeholders I’m in the process of making for the wedding season.”

Sarah wedding print sarah place holder 

I spent a long time worrying about how I couldn’t launch my business until I had every last detail worked out, but over time I have tried to learn not to be such a perfectionist! It’s better to start and evolve along the way.

Purplespoon Design and other makers will be around to meet and chat at the Cambridge Made Summer Fair on the 11th of June at St Andrew’s Street Baptist Church (next to the Arts Picturehouse), Cambridge.

Leave a Reply

