Interview:Harriet of Harriet Emily Design

Creating patterns for homewares is a dream come true for Harriet of Harriet Emily Design. “I started my own business at the beginning of the year. Although I have been working in various design jobs for the past few years, I thought it was finally time to start sharing my own designs and doing more of what I love – pattern design. I have always loved drawing and creating designs for all sorts of items. I currently design prints for a range of stationary, accessories and fabrics.”

“My work is inspired by vintage finds and collections. It showcases a variety of styles from geometric to floral and vintage colour pallets to bright contemporary prints. I love exploring new ideas and developing them in keeping with my own style. I have always found great inspiration in 1950’s homewares and Scandinavian design.  For me, the combination of colours and simplistic shapes stands out, adding a now retro feel to modern interiors.”

Harriet’s advice to those thinking about setting up their own business is, “If you are passionate about something you should keep going. What have you got to lose?  I spent a lot of time thinking about what I could do, but never quite getting round to doing it. Finally I took the leap this year and I am so happy that I did. You never know what you can achieve.”

Harriet hasn’t quit her day job just yet though and works on her business during evenings and weekends. “Within the next five years I hope to have a bigger studio set up where I can start screen printing my own fabric and wallpapers as a full time career.”

Harriet will be around to meet at the Cambridge Made Summer Fair on the 11th of June at St. Andrew’s Street Baptist Church. If you plan to pop in for a browse, let us know you’re coming on our  event page, by clicking on ‘Interested’ or ‘Going’.

Leave a Reply

