Interview: Emma of The Beach Hut Studio

 

Emma of The Beach Hut Studio always wanted a beach hut, so she built one to use as a studio for creating coastal inspired ceramics in her garden.

“My studio space meant I could make more pieces and gave me a gallery space to show my work, so a few years ago I started doing Cambridge Open Studios, which was a great success, gave me confidence to continue and show my work in galleries.”

As a passionate beach comber Emma says, “I love the North Norfolk coast and have spent many a childhood holiday jumping off the dunes and crabbing at low tide. The wildness of the Norfolk coast is amazing, with its ever changing coastline after each tide. I use many items I have found on the beach in my work, making each piece totally unique.”

Emma recommends that those starting out join Cambridge Open Studios. “I was lucky really as galleries have approached me, which is great. Being part of the Cambridge Open Studios means you are on their website, which has a big presence, so customers and galleries can find you easier. Also the other people you meet doing open studios have really helped me, and given great advice.”

You can meet Emma and chat with her and other makers at the Cambridge Made Summer Fair on the 11th of June, 10am-5pm at St. Andrew’s Street Baptist Church (near Arts Picturehouse), Cambridge. Here’s our Facebook event page. If you plan to pop in for a browse, do click to say you’re Interested or Going! 

 

Leave a Reply

