Seller Highlight: Bethany / BethanyEowyn

As part of our run-up to the Etsy Christmas pop-up shop at the end of this month, we’d like to introduce some of our sellers to you. We asked them a few questions about their shop, how they became an Etsy seller and their golden tips for online success!

This episode: Bethany from BethanyEowyn

Bethany creates unusual textile creations including women’s clothing and accessories, childrens clothing and home wares such as toddler teepees and baby quilts.

How did you choose your shop name?

When my designs outgrew my former shop name I decided to use my own name. My designs may change and evolve over time, but will always be handmade by me.

How did you decide to be an Etsy Seller?

I was drawn to Etsy as soon as I heard about it and loved the vintage and handmade ethos. I had started making accessories and selling them at local events and when I decided to go in to business in 2008 I signed up for Etsy straight away. I also love the shop layouts, everything on the site works well and looks great.

What do you love most about your products?

I’m a fabric addict and I have gathered beautiful fabrics from all over the world. I think the unique prints make each item really special.

What have been your biggest challenges in running an Etsy Shop?

I’m a one women operation and a full time Mum, and my products take a long time to make! I like to keep my shop fully stocked with a nice range of products so I squeeze in sewing time whenever I can.

What are your best tips for running an Etsy shop?

As mentioned above, having a nice full shop with lots of items to choose from is important. 🙂 The more items you have the more likely your items are to pop up in searches. I have found that my made to order listings are very popular where the customer can choose the fabric, colours etc. themselves, so it’s worth having some made to order items. Promoting your shop from outside Etsy is really important, lots of my shop views come via my blog, Facebook and Instagram. Finally joining a team, or collaborating with another designer and helping to promote eachothers work can be a real boost too. 🙂

Most importantly make things *you* would like to own and you can’t go far wrong!

bethanyeowyn - dress bethanyeowyn- washbag bethanyeowyn-play tent bethanyeowyn-wristband pincushion

Come meet Bethany, and our other sellers at the Fountain Inn, 12 Regent Street, Cambridge!

29th November 2014: 11:00 – 20:00

30th November 2014: 11:00 – 20:00

Leave a Reply

